I’ll Never Get Bored Of Concerts – 5 Seconds Of Summer: Sounds Live, Feels Live

This past weekend I went and saw 5 Seconds Of Summer for the fourth time. Yes that’s right. I’ve seen 5SOS four times. NO SHAME!

Now I’m not a crazy fan girl. Don’t get me wrong, I love their music and I think they’re absolutely attractive in every sense of the word, but I don’t freak out when I see them, or when they post a selfie on Instagram. 

So last Sunday I took the three and a half hour drive with my little sister and two girls from my work. My sister has been to every concert I’ve been to – sisters who concert together – so her concert resume is just as loaded as mine. One of the other girls had never seen 5SOS live, and she IS a crazy fan girl so she had the time of her life. 

This particular concert was 100% general admission, so it was basically first in, best dressed. But there was no way I was waiting in a line full of twelve year old fan girls who scream at the sight of the security guard guarding the security guard of the support act 🙄. This line up was ridiculously long when we turned up half an hour before the gates opened. But I’m no rookie, and the policewoman and two security guys weren’t going to stop me. It was my lucky day, and a convenient statue stood in the perfect place for a cue jump. When the policewoman walked away up the line, and the security were looking the other way, I took the chance and jumped the cue with my sister and 2 friends in hot pursuit. AND I WAS SUCCESSFUL! No twelve year old was going to say anything, and me and my crew walked past those two guards like we’d been standing in the line for the past five hours. 

Like every concert, they played popular tunes and all the fans sang along to “Happy” and “Uptown Funk”. At 6:30pm, the first supporting act started, an Australian band called With Confidence. I’d never heard of them, but they were pretty decent. Didn’t get to sing along to any of the songs, but the music was good, and the drummer was awesome. 

7:05pm brought out Hey Violet. Now I had heard of them. They signed with 5SOS’s record label, Hi Or Hey Records. I didn’t know many of their songs, but they were still pretty good. It’s always great when a band can sound just as good live as they do in the studio. I did think they were British, but turns out their American. Learn something new everyday I guess. 

I then spent 15-20 minutes sitting amongst crazy fans and some poor parents. And then Girls Talk Boys started playing and everyone freaked out and stood up thinking 5SOS were coming out. They didn’t. They tricked us. 

But a little after 8pm, the stage darkened and the lights flashed, and suddenly a shadowy figure was sitting at the drums, and the 5SOS had finally arrived. Being the fourth time, I knew what to expect. But of course, my expectations were wrong. I’d never seen a piano on stage before, that was weird. Until Michael & Luke decided they were going to play it, and everybody freaked out. And it was amazing. Speaking of Luke, he’s grown up quite a bit, and is rocking some awesome stubble and his eyes were… woah! (Okay, I can fan girl a little bit.. I’m not a monster! But Ashton will always be my fave. Drummers, man! ❤️)

Tracks from their new album, and a few from their first album, each song was fantastic! But some songs are more memorable, like Jet Black Heart. The stage was black, with a single spotlight on Michael Clifford. Who spent a good 5 minutes literally doing nothing but staring out into the crowd with no expression, fiddling with his guitar a bit, couldn’t help but grin a little at one point, and then finally.. “everybody’s got their demons..” and the rest of the guys joined him on stage. 

Girls Talk Boys was their “last song”, but because, like I said before, I’m not a rookie, I knew an encore was coming. After a few minutes, Ashton returned to the stage with a camera. He took some photos of the crowd, and videoed himself starting the classic “Aussie Aussie Aussie” chant. 

Then he returned to the drum kit and drum rolled the other guys back on stage and She’s Kinda Hot and She Looks So Perfect followed suit. 

After their stage bow, and the lights came on, it was over, and a wave of post 5SOS depression washed over us all. My 5SOS virgin friend was overwhelmed, my sister was enjoying a post 5SOS depression/excitement high, and I was belting out Long Way Home – for some reason I tend to sing the song from the middle of the concert rather than the last song I heard. 

Even though it was my fourth time seeing them, it never gets old. Each concert is different and they’re always improving. Apart from their odd American accents, (if three months in America makes them have American accents, then I’m keen to go to the UK and come home with a British one), it was definitely a night to remember. 

Now I’m concert-less. Until March 13th. Bring on the Biebs!! 🤘🏻

Leave a Reply

